TRESemme Split Remedy Shampoo and Conditioner Initial Thoughts and Review

As you may know, the Target Summer Beauty Bag came with some good sized samples of the new TRESemme Split Remedy Shampoo and Conditioner and since I had to wash my hair anyway, I decided to try it out. I do have split ends, they aren’t that bad at the moment, but anything that says it can reduce split ends it always tempting. I know the only real way to get rid of split ends is by cutting them (and I trim them often, especially when I’m bored), but I’m growing out my hair and want to wait as long as possible between trims.

Here is the shampoo description:
“This light, moisturizing formula gently cleanses and strengthens to keep hair healthy and manageable. When used regularly with Split Remedy conditioner, it reduces split ends by up to 80% in just three uses.* Hair is left looking soft, smooth and salon-fresh longer.”
Three uses wasn’t going to happen with the size of the samples, I ended up using all of the conditioner in one shot because I have pretty long hair. I’ll probably be able to get three uses out of the shampoo, but not sure if I’ll keep using it. 
So initial thoughts: I liked the shampoo, it lathered up pretty nicely and I did not need a lot of it, but there was nothing super special about it. I did lather up my ends, which I don’t normally do, but since this is for split ends and I only have split ends at the ends of my hair I lathered everything up. Then I used all of the conditioner from the middle to ends of my hair, really focusing on the ends to get moisture back in there. The conditioner was pretty creamy, a little liquidier than I like, but not runny. Now when I washed it out, I saw some of my color running off! That was super weird because I colored my hair around the end of April, so the running stopped a while ago. So, that was pretty much the end-all for me, I definitely would not use this conditioner again.
I feel like my color was kind of dull after using this shampoo and conditioner so it kind of turned me off. I usually use Paul Mitchell Color Protect shampoo and conditioner (less often now, because I usually deep condition).
My hair is also wavy, and I did think that my waves came out a little wavier after using the TRESemme, but the real test is always after sleeping on it. So, when I woke up this morning, lo and behold… the waves were a little weird looking, as usual, which makes me think that it was just my imagination trying to like the shampoo and conditioner more than I actually did. 
Overall, my ends are a little softer than usual, but not as soft as when I deep condition and (obviously) I can still see my splits. I would be willing to try another product from the Split Remedy line, like the serum as I’m on the search for something to use while I grow my hair out and between deep conditioner uses. I do think the prices of the TRESemme lines are really good, even though I have had mixed reactions to their products.
You can find reviews for everything in the Split Remedy line on Google, if you’re interested. I did look through a lot of reviews and most were positive.
Oh, by the way, I let my hair dry naturally after I used the shampoo and conditioner and did not style it. Also, I didn’t follow shampoo and conditioner directions, so that might have made a difference in my results.
Until next time,
The Wicked
Leave a Reply

