July 2014 Lip Monthly Unboxing and Initial Review!

Disclaimer: This was sent to me for review

The other day I received my Lip Monthly!

lipmonthly

lipmonthly2

First,  little about Lip Monthly before we get to the products– Lip Monthly is a service (like Birchbox and Ipsy) where you get a package of products delivered every month, with a focus on lip products.

Here’s what I received in my box!

lipmonthly3

You get a card with all the product names, where to buy and some prices..wish they had the colors listed though!

lipmonthly4

Here’s everything! I was confused about the John Frieda when I first saw it, but it explains on the card that this is the Monthly Mix Up. Really liked that!

lipmonthly5

Appeal Cosmetics Red Light District. So beautiful. I’m not usually into reds, but I’m super excited about this one It’s a true red, not too blue based, but so pretty. I tried it on and it felt moisturizing, not drying and very comfortable on the lips. I’ll be doing a full review on this one and I’ll work on my lip swatches, I promise!

lipmonthly6

City Color Cosmetics Lip Balm in Bright Pink. This was super moisturizing, even a little slick on the lips. The pigmentation is pretty good for a lip balm, it takes a few swipes to get it this bright though. It sheers out a little bit during application.

lipmonthly8

City Color Cosmetics Lip Lush in Mahogany. A little dark for me, but I think it would work as a nude shade for darker skin tones. It’s very much like a crayon, not as smooth as a Revlon balm sticks but it has nice coverage. It’s not too moisturizing though.

I didn’t show the Revlon Lipgloss because I’m sure most of you already know what the applicator looks like and such. The Color is Sunbaked, which looks a little dark but sheers out to a nice your-lips-but-better color. Very glossy, not sticky. Classic Revlon lipgloss.

lipmonthly7Again, the colors are:

  • City Color Lip Lush in Mahogany
  • City Color Lip Balm in Bright Pink
  • Appeal Cosmetics lipstick in Red Light District
  • Revlon Lipgloss in Sunbaked.

I actually really like everything that was in here, especially Red Light District. I will do some full product reviews, so stay tuned for that!

So value is approximately $35 (without the John Frieda) for all full sized products. Not a bad deal for a usually $10 box. Shipping was fast, and I actually got it a day earlier than my tracking info originally stated. It shipped on a Friday and I got it in the mail on Monday. Not sure if you have to pay for shipping, I’m assuming you don’t since it doesn’t state it on the website.

There are 3 options for this box: 1 month, 4 months or annual. The price for 1 month is $10, but you can use the code SUMMERLIPS to get your first box for $6.99. The 4 month option is $40 but you can get it for $36 with code LIPMONTHLY4. The annual option is $120 but you can get it for $100 with code 2FREE. The plans do renew automatically so just be aware of that.

If you like these kinds of sample services or lip products in general, I’d say check this out. You can get some more info on their website along with some testimonials.

Leave a Reply

