My Work Day Makeup Staples!

Recently started  working full time in our office, prior to that I was blissfully working from home. Working from home didn’t call for makeup, just my couch. But now that I need to see people every day, I thought I’d share my work staples!

workstaples

This is basically the gist of my day to day makeup. So here are my work day makeup staples:

  • Matte neutral eyeshadow

My go-to for a while now has been the Urban Decay Naked Basics palette. I think it’s perfect for every day wear. It has a mostly matte, all neutral shades. I’ve also started using my Too Faced Candy Bar pop out palette as well-it has a lot of darker shades so I use it with Naked Basics. I love palettes that do double duty, so with both palettes I can use shadows to fill in my brows and as highlight colors. My usual routine though, is to use Naked Basics on my lid and crease, Candy Bar as my highlight and darker color on the lower lash line (and the bronzer!).

  • Liquid eyeliner

Some people can skip the liner, but I cannot. I’ve always had a soft spot for eyeliner. I love liquid liner for work because it’s just fast. I’ve tried using gel, but it usually takes up more time in the morning. My two picks recently have been the Urban Decay 24/7 liquid liner in Perversion and the L’oreal Telescopic liner in Carbon Black. Love these for different reasons: the Urban Decay has an awesome little brush, loving that way more than the felt tip lately. It has a glossier finish and sometimes needs a few layers to get it very black (might be because mine’s getting old though). When I don’t want a glossy finish, I grab the L’oreal. It’s matte and super black, it does have the felt tip but I deal with it.

  • Mascara

I’ll admit that sometimes I do forget mascara, but I’ve been really trying to remember! When I do I go for my L’oreal Volumious Miss Manga or my Urban Decay Supercurl (also love a Diorshow that I have but it’s not water proof and I have horrible allergies). I’ve been loving the Miss Manga every since I got it for my birthday and I just rediscovered my Supercurl. Sometimes I like to layer them as well.

  • Concealer

Probably the most important in my routine. As you can tell from the picture, I do not use foundation. I don’t even own any foundation. My skin is on the drier side and I don’t like layering a lot of stuff on it, it ends up caking up on me. So instead of using foundation or BB cream (which I do have), I just use concealer. My go-to is my MAC Pro Longwear. I love applying it with my Real Technique sponge. It has great coverage and I can spread thinner layers to avoid caking. Just as a note, I do use moisturizer and primer before I use concealer.

So those are my staples! As I said I do slightly bronze just to warm up my face, and I use the Chocolate Soleil bronzer that comes in the Candy Bar pop out palette. Sometimes If I decide to highlight I use theBalm’s Mary Lou-Manizer.

What are your go-to work products?

Leave a Reply

