Coconut Oil Pre-wash Initial Thoughts!

I decided it was time to switch up my hair routine!

A little background on my hair… I’ve been coloring it for a long while now, and I have pretty dry ends. I might be bleaching said ends this weekend for a plummy ombre, so I really needed something to add lots of moisture. My normal routine includes a shampoo and conditioner recommended by my hair guy and some hair serums, like Biosilk. My hair guy actually gave me the shampoo and conditioner for my last birthday and when I ran out, I decided to buy it on Amazon because I could get a bigger size for cheaper. What I didn’t realize is that the shampoo I got from Amazon has sulfates! GASP! But I used it for a while anyway, then I started to find my scalp getting really dry. It might be from sulfates, or our hard water, or both. So it was time for a change.

I present to you… coconut oil!

This is the one I got… it is Wegmans brand extra virgin unrefined coconut oil.

So coconut oil is a little weird, it comes in a tub and it’s solid. Some blogs recommend microwaving it to melt it, I just rubbed it in my hands until it melted. It was a little messier, but worked.

I started by parting my hair into two sections and just working the oil in starting from my ends going up. Then I flipped my hair over, and made sure that I got every strand. Then I added a little bit to my scalp and roots, and finally extra on my ends. Then I put it up, threw on a shower cap and went about my business for an hour.

To go along with this, I also bought a sulfate-free shampoo. I opted for L’Oreal EverPure Moisture Shampoo, which is part of the Color Care System.

So after the hour was up, I washed my hair as I normally would. I did double shampoo, just to ensure that I got all the oil out of my roots. I lightly shampooed my ends for the same reason. Then conditioned, and that was it!

I was nervous about my hair being really oily, but I had no oily residue, just super shiny hair! I really tried not to brush it too much and just let it dry as it would naturally. I did add some hair serum when it was damp, just to reduce frizz. Also, I left my hair as it was, no styling. I usually do an overnight no-heat curling thing, but I decided against it just to test what my hair would be like.

Overall, I like the results so far. My hair is nice and shiny, and the color is more vibrant. It’s really soft, my ends are still a tad dry, but I do have a bunch of split ends that need trimming. So far no change in my scalp, but I wouldn’t expect that (or the dry ends) to change overnight.

I’m definitely going to keep doing this, probably once a week and I’ll write another update in a month or so!

Have you guys done any pre-washes? Thoughts?

One thought on “Coconut Oil Pre-wash Initial Thoughts!

  1. Pingback: My Current Hair Routine! | The Mani-ac

Leave a Reply

