How I Manage My KP!

So, I’m (very sadly) back from Disney World and today I wanted to talk to you guys about KP or Keratosis Pilaris.

What is KP, you ask? Well, it’s a condition that causes rough patches and small, acne-like bumps on the skin and it occurs when too much keratin builds up in the skin’s hair follicles. It’s also sometimes called ‘chicken skin”, which I find kinda bleh haha.

Anyway, I mostly get it on my thighs, and never really thought anything of it as it wasn’t that bad. It eventually cleared up and I forgot about it all together, until a couple of months ago when it came back with a vengeance. I knew I had my Disney trip coming up and a wedding to go to in the summer, so the bumps were not going to fly. I decided to try exfoliating first, and it seemed to help but it actually just really irritated my skin and didn’t help at all. I finally did some reading and went for an actual KP treatment, I went to Ulta and picked up…

dd_kpduty_newDermadoctor KP Duty Dermatologist Formulated AHA Moisturizing Therapy for Dry Skin! Phew! That name is a mouthful. When I first started using it, I was pretty skeptical, but I knew that results wouldn’t happen overnight. After using it for over a month now, I have to say that it has definitely worked for me! The directions say to use it twice a day, but I only use it about 4 times a week. What I like to do is use it after I shower, I’ll shave my legs in the shower to gently exfoliate, because shaving does that, and then dry off my legs and apply to the areas that I need it.

It’s pretty expensive, $38 for 4 oz. It’s lasted me a while, and cleared up my skin so I actually think it’s a decent value and would consider buying another one when I run out.

In the last couple of weeks I’ve also added another moisturizer to my arsenal…

05162Lush Tender is the Night Massage Bar! Now, let me first say that I had no idea it was a massage bar when I started using it haha and I don’t use it for massages at all. I think it’s a fantastic moisturizer! I mostly use it on my lower legs, where there isn’t much KP, but I also took it to Disney to use all over because it’s great to travel with!

It’s quickly become one of m new favorite things and I’m definitely going to buy more of them! They vary in prices and scents, so check your local Lush or Lush.com for more info.

And that’s it! I’m just glad that I’ve gotten my KP under control lol I hope this post wasn’t TMI for you!

One thought on “How I Manage My KP!

  1. Pingback: Gold Bond Rough and Bumpy Skin Review! | The Mani-ac

Leave a Reply

