House of Beauty Lip Hybrids Swatches and Review!

I don’t even remember when I first saw or heard about these, but I rediscovered them a few weeks ago and had to buy them right away.

HouseofbeautyliphybridsHouseofbeautyliphybrids2

The colors that I got.

Houseofbeautyliphybrids3

I wanted to show you the viscosity of the lip hybrid.

Houseofbeautyliphybrids4

These are the colors that I got:

  • Pretty Natural– a pale rosy brown, sets to a satin finish
  • Kathryn– a rose taupe, sets to a semi matte finish
  • Iron Rose– metallic rose with burgundy undertones, sets to a metallic semi matte finish
  • Sienna– a red toned brown, sets to a semi glossy finish
  • Gothica– a deep burgundy with plum undertones and red shimmer, sets to a semi glossy finish
  • Midnight– rich plum with purple shimmer, sets to a satin finish

The Lip Hybrids come in a lot of different finishes: satin, semi matte, semi glossy, metallic semi matte, foiled satin, high gloss, sparkly satin finish and semi metallic satin. (I think that’s it lol) I tried to get a variety of finished to try out.

There are over 100 colors to choose from and believe me… it’s super hard to choose. I decided to go with colors I knew that I’d wear. I really wanted the gold one called Treasured buuuut I knew I wouldn’t actually wear it. So I went with more neutral colors and vampy colors (basically opposites lol).

As you can see these come in clear jars, like the ones you get when you buy pigments or loose eye shadows. So, you need to have something to apply them with. I use a lip brush I have from OCC.

These have a texture similar to OCC lip tars, but they are ‘stickier’, more viscous. Similarly to lip tars, you only need a small amount. You can layer them for more opacity or use less for just a wash of color. The color does depend on your lip color, if you have pigmented lips, you may want to use foundation or concealer to neutralize your lip color so the true color of the lip hybrid will come through. I tried thee over bare lips and concealed lips… I prefer them over the concealer.

They are supposed to have a wear time of 4-8 hours. They do transfer so the wear time will depend on what you’re doing. The first one I wore is Sienna. I put it on at around 7pm, went out.. ate, drank and wiped my face multiple times (wings, go figure) and just had a stain left by 10:30. By 11:30 it had faded pretty completely. With all the eating and wiping, I’d say that’s still not bad. If you aren’t going to be eating or drinking, they will last longer.

I haven’t worn these much, but so far I’m really liking them. I’m really pumped to dry the darker colors. Have you tried any kind of ‘lip hybrid’?

 

 

2 thoughts on “House of Beauty Lip Hybrids Swatches and Review!

Leave a Reply

